Alumni Update: Marissa Zampino (’19C)

Former History major Marissa Zampino graduated from Emory College in 2019. Below she offers an update on professional life following graduation, including a return to Atlanta through the AmeriCorps VISTA program. Read Zampino’s update below, and if you are an alumnus with news to share, please write to us at history@emory.edu.

“I am back in Atlanta and working at Morehouse College through an AmeriCorps VISTA program.  My service site is a division of the Morehouse Bonner Office of Community Service called the Morehouse College Community Revitalization Initiative (MCCRI).  We primarily run educational programs every week at elementary schools in the West End and Westview, but we are also working on a genealogy project.  I also attend monthly community meetings for the Atlanta University Center Neighborhood Association to see how Morehouse can get more involved in the community. I am planning on going to graduate school Fall 2021, but I am debating between a few programs/concentrations to apply to.  I really would like to pursue a PhD in Ethnic Studies or American Studies, but through my AmeriCorps experience I am discovering that I truly enjoy community activism and educational/public policy.”

– Marissa Zampino